Games That Time Forgot – The Nightmare Before Christmas: Oogies Revenge, PlayStation 2

I felt that since it was the week of Halloween then we should talk about a game that I really enjoyed playing when I was younger. It was a game that was a continuation of the film from the nineties and focuses on what happens next.

The Nightmare Before Christmas: Oogies Revenge was released in 2005, it was developed by Capcom and published by Buena Vista Games and Capcom. The game was based around the concept that Jack is still disappointed with Halloween and goes on a search to find a way to make it more magical. Doctor Finkelstein gives Jack a ‘Soul Rubber’ so that he can visit other worlds and protect himself. When he leaves Lock Shock and Barrel bring Oogie Boogie back to life and causes problems in Halloween town.

Throughout the game Jack can transform into different characters such as the Pumpkin King and Santa Claus to help him on his way. The game consisted of 24 separate chapters, when you complete certain challenges you get a logo to one of the different holiday worlds. You also get graded between the letters A through to D as to how well you do on that level.

The game received mix reviews as people were not sure about the storyline and also the cameras were not the best at tracking.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s